First Test: 2013 Chevrolet Corvette 427 60th Anniversary Convertible

VEHICLE SPECS (Base Model)
Engine6.2L V8
Power430 hp / 424 lb-ft
TransmissionManual
MSRP$49,600
Seats2 adults
MPG16 City / 26 Hwy
Consumer Reviews Rate This Car
I will never be a sommelier. Don’t get me wrong, I love wine, but I couldn’t tell the difference between a 90-point wine and a 100-point wine if you paid me. These people can stick their noses in a glass and tell you it has hints of tobacco, star fruit, and elderberry. Huh? Sometimes I wonder if they’re just making it up, but I’m sure they say the same thing about me when I write about steering feel.The point of this rumination is that I often find myself perfectly happy with an inexpensive bottle of wine. I like how it tastes or I don’t, it has little to do with whether it came from the grocery store or a wine merchant. I feel the same way about cars like the 2013 Chevrolet Corvette 427 60th Anniversary Convertible. I know I can spend a ridiculous amount of money on a top-shelf bottle, say a 991 911 vintage, and it’ll probably be a little smoother, taste a little better, and finish nicer. But that doesn’t mean I won’t enjoy a glass of 2013 C6 just as well.
The 427 60th Anniversary Convertible is a mix-and-match of Corvette parts. It’s not exactly a Z06 convertible, because it uses the base car’s steel frame rather than the Z06’s lighter aluminum structure. It’s not a base car in a fancy suit, either, because in addition to the Z06’s curvy, carbon-fiber-enhanced body, the 427 also borrows its superlative-inducing, 7.0-liter (427.7-cubic-inches–be quiet about the rounding, math geeks) LS7 V-8 engine and magnetic shocks. Replace the base car’s inconsistent Goodyears with a set of the Z06’s sticky Michelin Pilot Sports, and you have the closest thing you’re ever going to get to a Z06 convertible.
2013 Chevrolet Corvette 427
BASE PRICE $76,900
PRICE AS TESTED $91,320
VEHICLE LAYOUT Front engine, RWD, 2-pass, 2-door convertible
ENGINE 7.0L/505-hp/470-lb-ft OHV 16-valve V-8
TRANSMISSION 6-speed manual
CURB WEIGHT (F/R DIST) 3404 lb (50/50%)
WHEELBASE 105.7 in
LENGTH x WIDTH x HEIGHT 175.6 x 75.9 x 48.7 in
0-60 MPH 3.8 sec
QUARTER MILE 11.9 sec @ 121.5 mph
BRAKING, 60-0 MPH 101 ft
LATERAL ACCELERATION 1.06 g (avg)
MT FIGURE EIGHT 24.1 sec @ 0.84 g (avg)
EPA CITY/HWY FUEL ECON 15/24 mpg
ENERGY CONS., CITY/HWY 225/140 kW-hrs/100 miles
CO2 EMISSIONS 1.08 lb/mile
Tags:

About Nlyten

I have always been a tech enthusiast, to the point where i have become an addict. Tech to me is crack; Always trying to get my fix every chance i get ! I have always loved sharing anything that fascinates me which again 90% of the time is about tech related content. I used to share content on Google Reader Shared pages (http://www.google.com/reader/shared/surdie) but after their not so brilliant idea to shut it down i felt i needed a new platform where i could share and distribute content and thats how Nlyten.com came about. So keep reading and get Nlyten ed !

Leave a Reply

